90 Days with Jesus

I want to introduce people to Jesus, but how best to do that?

When I considered possible options, I thought that a devotional study through the Harmony of the Gospels might be the way to go, since that would take us through the life of Jesus chronologically, by ordering and piecing together the parts of the New Testament (more or less, the four Gospels) to tell a complete story.

I first did this with a group of young people (along with some of their older mentors) from a Maryland youth ministry called Kalos. Now I am working to take what I learned from that group and make improvements, with the potential end goal of having both web-based materials and a book (or possibly an ebook).

In the first attempt, the devotionals were optional, but in this latest edition, they are integral. People will benefit greatly in understanding the heart of God if they read them. Yet there are some who just want to read through the Bible passages on their own. My goal is to have this set up in such a way that such an approach will also be viable using these materials.

In the original version, I listed all the verses (even the parallel or duplicate verses). In the revised version, I pick the main verses to read, and then suggest as an additional exercise to read the parallel verses. The idea behind this is to help those who want to get through reading about Jesus’ life, without reading the same story more than once. This is also helpful for those who read on their smartphones, because it is difficult to switch back-and-forth between the web app that has the reading list and the Bible app; and difficult to switch between multiple passages in a single reading.

By clicking on a specific day below, you will be taken to a page that has the reading for the day, and comments and links to devotionals. Since I am re-writing everything, to the two systems will need to exist together for a while. The original devotional was designed to be one set of readings per day for 90 days. On the revised system, the number of days have not yet been set, but the readings are shorter, so the user could consider doing one in the morning and another in the evening.

I prepared some workbooks for people following the earlier method of the study, which the reader may download. I am not ready yet to create updated workbooks.

Revised System

Reading 1. The Pre-Existence of Jesus (John 1:1-18)
Reading 2. The Genealogy of Jesus (Matthew 1:1-17)

Original System

Day 1 (Tuesday, August 5, 2014)
Day 2 (Wednesday, August 6, 2014)
Day 3 (Thursday, August 7, 2014)
Day 4 (Friday, August 8, 2014)
Day 5 (Saturday, August 9, 2014)
Day 6 (Sunday, August 10, 2014)
Day 7 (Monday, August 11, 2014)
Day 8 (Tuesday, August 12, 2014)
Day 9 (Wednesday, August 13, 2014)
Day 10 (Thursday, August 14, 2014)
Day 11 (Friday, August 15, 2014)
Day 12 (Saturday, August 16, 2014)
Day 13 (Monday, August 18, 2014)
Day 14 (Tuesday, August 19, 2014)
Day 15 (Wednesday, August 20, 2014)
Day 16 (Thursday, August 21, 2014)
Day 17 (Friday, August 22, 2014)
Day 18 (Saturday, August 23, 2014)
Day 19 (Monday, August 25, 2014)
Day 20 (Tuesday, August 26, 2014)
Day 21 (Wednesday, August 27, 2014)
Day 22 (Thursday, August 28, 2014)
Day 23 (Friday, August 29, 2014)
Day 24 (Saturday, August 30, 2014)
Day 25 (Monday, September 1, 2014)
Day 26 (Tuesday, September 2, 2014)
Day 27 (Wednesday, September 3, 2014)
Day 28 (Thursday, September 4, 2014)
Day 29 (Friday, September 5, 2014)
Day 30 (Saturday, September 6, 2014)
Day 31 (Monday, September 8, 2014)
Day 32 (Tuesday, September 9, 2014)
Day 33 (Wednesday, September 10, 2014)
Day 34 (Thursday, September 11, 2014)
Day 35 (Friday, September 12, 2014)
Day 36 (Saturday, September 13, 2014)
Day 37 (Monday, September 15, 2014)
Day 38 (Tuesday, September 16, 2014)
Day 39 (Wednesday, September 17, 2014)
Day 40 (Thursday, September 18, 2014)
Day 41 (Friday, September 19, 2014)
Day 42 (Saturday, September 20, 2014)
Day 43 (Monday, September 22, 2014)
Day 44 (Tuesday, September 23, 2014)
Day 45 (Wednesday, September 24, 2014)
Day 46 (Thursday, September 25, 2014)
Day 47 (Friday, September 26, 2014)
Day 48 (Saturday, September 27, 2014)
Day 49 (Monday, September 29, 2014)
Day 50 (Tuesday, September 30, 2014)
Day 51 (Wednesday, October 1, 2014)
Day 52 (Thursday, October 2, 2014)
Day 53 (Friday, October 3, 2014)
Day 54 (Saturday, October 4, 2014)
Day 55 (Monday, October 6, 2014)
Day 56 (Tuesday, October 7, 2014)
Day 57 (Wednesday, October 8, 2014)
Day 58 (Thursday, October 9, 2014)
Day 59 (Friday, October 10, 2014)
Day 60 (Saturday, October 11, 2014)
Day 61 (Monday, October 13, 2014)
Day 62 (Tuesday, October 14, 2014)
Day 63 (Wednesday, October 15, 2014)
Day 64 (Thursday, October 16, 2014)
Day 65 (Friday, October 17, 2014)
Day 66 (Saturday, October 18, 2014)
Day 67 (Monday, October 20, 2014)
Day 68 (Tuesday, October 21, 2014)
Day 69 (Wednesday, October 22, 2014)
Day 70 (Thursday, October 23, 2014)
Day 71 (Friday, October 24, 2014)
Day 72 (Saturday, October 25, 2014)
Day 73 (Monday, October 27, 2014)
Day 74 (Tuesday, October 28, 2014)
Day 75 (Wednesday, October 29, 2014)
Day 76 (Thursday, October 30, 2014)
Day 77 (Friday, October 31, 2014)
Day 78 (Saturday, November 1, 2014)
Day 79 (Monday, Noveber 3, 2014)
Day 80 (Tuesday, November 4, 2014)
Day 81 (Wednesday, November 5, 2014)
Day 82 (Thursday, November 6, 2014)
Day 83 (Friday, November 7, 2014)
Day 84 (Saturday, November 8, 2014)
Day 85 (Monday, Noveber 10, 2014)
Day 86 (Tuesday, November 11, 2014)
Day 87 (Wednesday, November 12, 2014)
Day 88 (Thursday, November 13, 2014)
Day 89 (Friday, November 14, 2014)
Day 90 (Saturday, November 15, 2014)

2 thoughts on “90 Days with Jesus

  1. Tim Vogeler

    Day 1… I brought a 100 page notebook for this study and write down things as I read it the second or third time around. My Bible is NLT (new living translation)
    I assume the Word is Jesus -v1. The verses that jumps out at me is v-4 and 5… 4 Life itself was in Him, and this life gives light to everyone.
    5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can NEVER extinguish it. In verse 4 I feel LIFE is Holy Spirit or God’s Spirit as some call it. God breathes LIFE into man and give us all LIGHT who is Jesus (see v-9). So in v-5 the Light (Jesus) shines thought the Darkness … The darkness to me is everything evil or Satan… So Darkness (evil) can NEVER extinguish the LiGHT (Jesus)…period. Reminds me of the Everyday skit where Jesus is there for you with the Holy Spirit and when you reach out to Him He can just blow away all your darkness.
    I am thankful that Jesus came and live among us, given us Light and revealed God the Father to us. ‘Nuff said.

    Reply

Leave a Reply